This is my first attempt in translating songs. I have started with one of my favorites. Tried much not to change the meaning the original song convey. Hopefully.

காதல் கடிதம் தீட்டவே மேகம் எல்லாம் காகிதம்              
வானின் நீலம் கொண்டுவா பேனா மையோ தீர்ந்திடும்    
சந்திரனும் சூரியனும் அஞ்சல்காரர்கள்                                 
இரவு பகல் எப்பொழுதும் அஞ்சல் உன்னைச் சேர்ந்திடும் 

To pen my love, I use clouds as paper
Get me sky’s blue, for pen’s ink might get over
The postmen, Moon and Sun
All nights and days, letters will flow in

கடிதத்தின் வார்த்தைகளில் கண்ணா நான் வாழுகிறேன்     
பேனாவில் ஊற்றி வைத்தது எந்தன் உயிரல்லோ                  
பொன்னே உன் கடிதத்தைப் பூவாலே திறக்கின்றேன்            
விரல் பட்டால் உந்தன் ஜீவன் காயம் படுமல்லோ                  
அன்பே உந்தன் அன்பில் ஆடிப் போகின்றேன்                          
செம்பூக்கள் தீண்டும்போது செத்துச் செத்து பூப்பூக்கின்றேன்

In words of letter, Dear, I live
With my life, pen, I fill
With flowers, I tear your post
Because, I fear, finger’s touch would hurt  
Dear, I am awed, by your love
When flowers touch, I die, I die and bloom

கண்ணே உன் கால் கொலுசில் மணியாக மாட்டேனா          
மஞ்சத்தில் உறங்கும்போது சிணுங்க மாட்டேனா                  
காலோடு கொலுசல்ல கண்ணோடு உயிரானாய்                   
உயிரே நான் உறங்கும்போதும் உறங்கமாட்டாயா               
தப்பு செய்யப் பார்த்தால் ஒப்புக்கொள்வாயா                          
மேலாடை நீங்கும்போது வெட்கம் என்ன முந்தானையா  

Beads in your anklets, Won’t I be?
On bed, as you lay asleep, Won’t I whimper?
Not an anklet, but you are life in my eyes
Oh my dear! Won’t you rest when I sleep?
Will you agree when I turn mischief?
When your cloth fails, does shyness turn into a cover?

 It might feel less compared to original for originals are always better. To be improved, I agree. Drop in comments and suggestions! 🙂

